Favourite Tables

Chef's Table

Francos

At the Chef’s Table with Stefano Turconi of Franco’s

Posted on

 

LowRes-headshots-Francos-Scholey- Francos Head shots7930[1] copy

Stefano joined Franco’s as a senior chef de partie two years after the restaurant’s initial re-design in 2005.  After successfully working in all the sections of the kitchen, he was soon promoted to the position of senior sous chef.  Two years later when the previous head chef resigned, it was an easy decision to promote Stefano to Head Chef Stefano continues to inspire and delight with new dishes on a daily basis.  Although from the north of Italy, Stefano has a passion for many of the ingredients from central and southern regions.  With Stefano’s thoughtful guidance, Franco’s continues to focus on ensuring the consistency and quality of all the products we serve.

 


 

Question: What would be your last dish (to eat) “the death row question”

Stefano: Pizza with spicy Calabrian sausage

Calabrian sausage pizza

Calabrian sausage pizza

Question: Which restaurant would you like to go to? (that you haven’t had the opportunity to visit yet)

Stefano: I would love to try Osteria Francescana – Massimo Bottura’s 3 Michelin Star restaurant in Modena, voted best world restaurant 2016/18

17761005_1329027640489284_4646880088430534809_o 525441_575468839141781_1022409824_n 13235520_1047441048647946_6056632171102357319_o

Question: How important is a Michelin star? a chef in France, who has 3 Michelin stars, recently asked that they are removed because of the pressure – your thoughts

Stefano: Michelin star it is the very top of the game, but not the most important thing in hospitality, you can have a successful restaurant even without it.

 

Question: What’s the most overused word on restaurant menus’ today

Stefano: These days you can always see in most menu the word’s healthy and light

 

 

Question: If you received a call from Buckingham Palace asking you to create a Dinner Menu with dishes or ingredients from your home region in Italy what would you feature?

Stefano: If I needed to choose ingredients or dishes from Lombardy, It would have to be some risotto some gorgonzola cheese and a pudding made of panettone.

Risotto with Gorgonzola

Risotto with Gorgonzola

Classic Panettone

Classic Panettone

Question: What is your favourite dish on the current Franco’s menu/s in which you use foraged ingredients or produce from your most local supplier?

Stefano: Cornish hake with fennel black olives and saffron

Amanda8330

 

Question: If for one night you could be invited to cook alongside any Chef past or present who would that be and why?

Stefano: Definitely Nico Ladenis OR Marco Pierre White two of the best chefs ever

Nico Ladenis MPW_001 (1)

 

 

My Favourite Tables– Two restaurants I have visited and why?

 

Restaurant (1): Locanda Locatelli: simply the best and most original Italian restaurant in London

Interior-2_RE LocandaLocatelli_Intro_02-2

 

Restaurant (2): Chez Bruce: a very interesting style of food, using various worldwide ingredients

starter cod_crop duck-crop brain_crop_2

Pale_Hall_featured

Chef’s Table Interview with Gareth Stevenson from Palé Hall

Posted on

chef-gareth-stevenson-lrg

 

Gareth currently heads up the team as Head Chef at Palé Hall, the luxury country house hotel and restaurant in North Wales. Since taking the helm at Palé Hall he has truly established his credentials as a rising star. Originally mentored by the Hotel Restaurant adviser Chef Michael Caines, who Gareth had previously worked with as Head Chef as part of the ABode Hotels and Restaurant Group. Gareth and Michael had worked closely to develop a fine dining menu at Palé Hall to tantalise the taste buds of all those lucky enough to experience it.

We asked how did it begin…

So I never really planned on becoming a chef, I had always been interested in food, and always cooked and baked with my Mum, but I fell into cooking as a backup. I worked for free for a few weeks at a hotel called Northop Hall near the border with Chester, my uncle is a gardener there so he had a word with the head chef to see if I could try it out to see how I got on. So I started there full time when I started college at Deeside (now Coleg Cambria) when I was 20.

 

I did 2 years there before I went to the Abode. So basically I applied there when I was coming to the end of my second year at college before it was opened, I felt stepping straight into the kitchen at the Grosvenor was maybe a step too far so working at somewhere maybe a small step below under somebody like Michael Caines would be a better fit. I was part of the opening team there as a commis and worked myself up from there. I worked under Stuart Collins to start with ( owner of Docket No.33) and it would be fair to say his impact on my career, through style, attitude, discipline and training was a big one.

Screen Shot 2018-06-22 at 09.08.26


 

Question: What would be your last dish (to eat) “the death row question”

 

Gareth: This might not go down too well with some people, but I love faggots, baked potatoes with butter and mushy peas. One of those meals that always brings back nice memories of my childhood.

English-Faggots

 

Question: Which restaurant would you like to go to? (that you haven’t had the opportunity to visit yet)

 

Gareth: Frantzen in Stockholm – it has recently been awarded 3 Michelin stars. Every time I see them make or create a new dish, I can’t help but be blown away by the attention to detail, not just in the procurement of the product and the cooking, but the way they have thought out the whole experience, for every single dish.

Frantzen B3-rbElu Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 13.27.28

 

Question: If you could change any misconceptions about restaurants/restaurant food, what would they be?

Gareth: That it is expensive. Food is not, and should not be cheap, ignoring the fact that a producer has put in time and money to create what we use.  It might take 5 days to make a sauce from stock to the finished article, there might be 15 people involved in cooking, serving and cleaning up after your meal, we have been misled by chain “restaurants” selling poor food at low prices.

Question: How important is a Michelin star? A chef in France, who has 3 Michelin stars, recently asked that for them to be removed because of the pressure – your thoughts?

Gareth: I think in terms of the business, it is massively important, there are statistics to back it up with regard to increases in numbers. For the chef, I’ve not been awarded one yet so I can’t honestly say, that it is an added pressure and stress? Of course, but it is also a massive personal achievement. However, as the cliché goes, cook for your guests, not the guides.

 

Question: If you received a call from Buckingham Palace asking you to create a Dinner Menu with dishes or ingredients from either Wales or from the area you grow up in, what would you feature?

Gareth: I’m from Leicestershire originally, so I think with hand raised pork pies, Stilton and Stichelton Red Leicester we could contribute to a buffet. However, we have some phenomenal local producers here in Wales. I would be tempted to do a beef wellington using our local Welsh black beef, something very regal about a Wellington. I think some Anglesey Lobster would go down well to start, a nice raviolo, and then I’d do a Tarte Tatin with vanilla ice cream, using apples from our orchard here at Palé.

Red_Leicester stilton_ Pale_Pork_pie Beef_Well

Question: What is your favourite dish that you have created in the past 6 months which you use foraged ingredients or produce from your most local supplier?

Gareth: We don’t forage much, wild garlic, pine, wood sorrel and elderflower is about it, but we have had a dish on the tasting menu this spring. Roast Welsh black beef fillet –  we braise some cheek with it too, then we make a puree of wild garlic, some wild garlic oil, and some really lightly sautéed wild garlic, we serve it with morels, pommes maxim and beef madeira sauce.

beef wild garlic taste (1)

 

Question: If for one night you could be invited to cook alongside any Chef past or present who would that be and why?

Gareth: Maybe Charlie Trotter, he was a bit of a superstar. After his death, I read a piece by a gentleman who had eaten a tasting menu at his restaurant, over 50 times, and never had the same dish twice. I think that is pretty remarkable when you cook at his level.

 

Late Charlie Trotter

 

 

My Favourite Tables– Two restaurants I have visited and why?

 

Restaurant (1): Sticky Walnut, they just do good food well, I used to work across the city from there so if I did eat out in Chester, it would be at Sticky. @StickyWalnut

434166_orig 8112482_orig img-6778-small_orig sw-mackerel-small_orig

 

Restaurant (2): Docket No. 33. Whitchurch. @Docket_no33. Chef Stuart Collins was my first executive chef, so has had a big impact on my career, and he owns this restaurant with his wife Fran. Such a good little restaurant, big flavours, well cooked, it’s the sort of thing I aspire to one day.

shopfront-tbps4170 21752184_171721250047523_3689950998700301491_n 21764723_170478140171834_4577605290537650031_n 22687921_181061379113510_7775371025158786177_n

Jesse_CT_main (1)

At the Chef’s Table – Jesse Dunford Wood

Posted on

Screen Shot 2018-05-11 at 15.46.21

 

Jesse’s food is firmly based in Britain, although his experiences cooking very international and contemporary food with superstar chefs – in Chicago with the late Charlie Trotter, and in Sydney with Mark Best have also been strong influences.

Mark Best Late Charlie Trotter

 

An apprenticeship with Michael Caines (2**) and also time spent with British chefs Rowley Leigh and Mark Hix culminated in opening the National Dining Rooms at the National Gallery in 2006. Together with restaurateur Oliver Peyton, now a TV authority on ‘Great British Menu’, they won the Best British restaurant from Time Out for original and interesting food.

 

MC_LympstoneMark-HixScreen Shot 2018-05-15 at 11.40.47

In April 2010, he relaunched the Mall Tavern in trendy Notting Hill Gate, cooking colourful and delicious British seasonal food, later winning the Rising Star Award by the Tatler Restaurant Guide. It was voted 20th best Gastro Pub in Great Britain from the trade magazine The Morning Advertiser.

In May 2013 Jesse opened PARLOUR in NW10, Kensal Green, an all-day bar and dining room, the next stage in an exciting career. Also included in the best 50 Gastro Pubs every year since opening, and winning BEST BREAKFAST in London from the Evening Standard.

Away from the restaurants and pubs, TV appearances include the BBC’s ‘Masterchef’, ‘Market Kitchen’ and ‘The Truth About Food’, and a regular contributor to various cookbooks and magazines, including the brilliant FORAGER handbook by Miles Irving.
2016 has seen lots of menu development work with both British Airways and United Airlines for European and Transatlantic Business and First Class Cabins.
2017 sees the publication of his first Cook Book ‘MODERN BRITISH FOOD’ with Absolute Press cookery publishing house. Exciting Times!

9781472938497Miles Irving

 


Q: What would be your last dish (to eat) “the death row question”

A: Macaroni Cheese with Smoked Bacon & a Crunchy Cheesy Top, great comfort food before I get my head chopped off.

Screen Shot 2018-05-15 at 12.20.42

 

Q: Before you chose to be a chef did you have another career in mind?

A: I was going to be a Doctor, then I got my science GCSE grades, and they weren’t good enough, so I decided on Photography, but I got distracted by cooking dinner parties and thought that a much better idea, so I got a job in a restaurant washing dishes in Edinburgh, and that was me hooked.

sg501_1 Photographer

 

Q: Which restaurant would you like to go to? (that you haven’t had the opportunity to visit yet)

A: Love to go to the new NOMA, progressive and at the forefront of Modern Food, and also Alain Ducasse in Monaco, the ultimate in Luxury.

Screen Shot 2018-05-11 at 17.01.00Screen Shot 2018-05-11 at 17.00.17Screen Shot 2018-05-11 at 16.59.49Screen Shot 2018-05-11 at 16.59.20

 

Q: What is set to be the next ‘new’ ingredient? And which in particular interests you.

A: I think Choux pastry is currently staking it’s claim, with Profiteroles, Eclairs and even churros style deep-fried versions all over the place at the moment, sweet and savoury. To keep up with the kids, we do amazing duck liver profiteroles here, which are to die for. Ask my wife, most of the reason my wife married me.

churros_large eclair Profiteroles

 

Q: If you could change any misconceptions about restaurants/restaurant food, what would they be?

A: This is a performance-based industry, and we have to produce, day in and day out, relentlessly for breakfast lunch and dinner. If we give you one bad performance, please give us another chance, it was most probably one bad night.

Everyone has a bad day once in a while no?

 

Q: If you received a call from Buckingham Palace asking you to create a Dinner Menu from your book Modern British Food what would you feature?

A: Those Duck Liver Profiteroles, followed by Smoked Salmon that we smoke here on site with our famous Soda Bread. We do an epic Roast Dinner, with all the trimmings and lastly our Toasted Marshmallow Wagon Wheel is a classic here at Parlour and fit for a King, and a Queen too…

WAGON WHEEL _Parlour Duck Liver Profitaroles_Parlour Screen Shot 2018-05-15 at 12.41.29

 

Q: What is your favourite dish on the current Parlour menu/s in which you use foraged ingredients or produce from your most local supplier?

A: Not foraged, but very personal to me is the Lop Eared Pig, which we receive as a whole beast from a favourite supplier Mary Holbrook in Somerset. We do lots of amazing things with, using the trotters and tail. And all the bits in-between.

british-lops

She also provides us with Goats’ cheese, which she is quite famous for, her Tymsboro’ and also a few baby suckling kids in the Spring.

What a treat.

Q: If for one night you could be invited to cook alongside any Chef past or present who would that be and why?

A: Love to work with Escoffier in his prime and see how hard REAL chefs used to work. He set the standard for many of the things we do here today in the modern kitchen. Genius and visionary, back when we are basically cooking food over burning wood still.

escoffier


My Favourite Tables – Restaurants I have visited several times and why?

Restaurant (1):  Perilla Dining in Newington Green, is progressive, energetic, simply set up and exceeds expectations. A chef’s chef doing creative modern food in a simple surrounding.

 

11001761_880561495315478_7583435075211667765_n 10516608_889012334470394_6045783095597701029_n 12273569_1019427688095524_3371994246138206630_o

 

Restaurant (2):  Ida Restaurant in Kilburn Lane, 5 mins walk from my own place Parlour. Owned and run by wife & husband, helped by their kids and also somewhere building a reputation on a meagre budget. Lovely Italian food, in a rustic homemade setting.

Screen Shot 2018-05-15 at 12.16.06 Screen Shot 2018-05-15 at 12.15.37 Screen Shot 2018-05-15 at 12.15.22

Le_Cochon_York

We Chat To Josh Overington Chef Patron of Restaurant Le Cochon Aveugle In York

Posted on

LeCochonAveugle_main

Josh Overington has been passionate about food and it’s origins since he was a young boy, when his Grandfather – a gourmand in the truest sense and a huge influence in Joshua’s life – introduced him to the culinary delights in Yorkshire, as well as further afield in France and other parts of Europe. This led to a year in Sydney, where Josh got a taste of what it was like working in a restaurant kitchen. Returning to the UK he worked for the next couple of years in some of the best kitchens in England, Josh then went to Paris to Le Cordon Bleu to hone his skills further.

Returning to York with partner Victoria, Josh opened the doors to Le Cochon Aveugle (and later, his wine bar, Cave du Cochon) where his set menu changes not just with the seasons, but on an almost daily basis, according to the produce available to him from his carefully selected growers, producers and farmers. He believes in cooking with a lightness of touch – using his skills purely to enhance and showcase the inherent quality of the food itself.

LeCochonAveugle_feature LeCochonAveugle_1009

 

 

Q: Which Chef/s influenced you in the past? Who continuous to influence you now?

A: David Kinch – Manresa

Josh_CT_david-kinch

& Alain Passard – L’Arpege

Josh_CT_Alain-Passard

Both have and continue to inspire me – their use of and focus on vegetables is a constant source of inspiration and helped me to develop in the kitchen.

Q: What would be your last dish (to eat) “the death row question”

A: I keep changing my mind! But at the moment, I’m craving Sunday dinner, so it would have to be Roast Rib of Beef, roasties and Yorkshire puddings.

Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 13.33.34

Q: Which restaurant would you like to go to? (that you haven’t had the opportunity to visit yet)

A: At the moment there are two – The Sportsman in Kent and Crown at Burchett’s Green. The food from both looks right up my street, the kind of food you just want to demolish. Need to get to them!

Crown_Innsportsman_kent

Q: Which city or country is the most innovative in terms of food?

A: I still think Paris is up there. From the bistro scene to the very fine dining, it is constantly changing and staying fresh. The bistronomy restaurants are responsible  – it’s such a great way to dine.

Paris_Food

Q: Who have you cooked for that has given you the most pleasure?

A: I’ve cooked for a lot of people, but I always enjoy going home and cooking for my nan.  She and my late grandfather fed me many times growing up, so it’s nice to return the favour.

Q: What is your favourite dish on the current menu/s in which you use foraged ingredients or produce from your most local supplier?

A: Our menu changes each day, so it’s hard to say exactly. We work with renowned grower Ken Holland, so our produce changes each day according to what is ready to be harvested. Currently, we have a braised baby leeks on with sauce gribiche, oyster emulsion, which is so tasty – especially at this time of year when you’re yearning for some new Spring produce.

Q: If for one night you could be invited to cook alongside any Chef past or present who would that be and why?

A: Fergus Henderson – he’s written my favourite cookbook. I’d like to pick his brains and have a drink or two with him!

Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 13.52.01

 

My Favourite Tables – Restaurants I have visited several times and why?

Restaurant (1):  The Black Swan at Oldstead and Chef Tommy Banks

Black_Swan2Black_swan1Black_Swan

Restaurant (2):  Skosh, York and Chef Neil Bentinck

Skosh01Skosh1Skosh_010a

Old_House_main

Shoot The Bull Chef, Chris Harrison Chats to Chef’s Table

Posted on

Shoot The Bull_Chris_Harrison

Chef Chris Harrison has been a Chef for just over ten years. His career started locally to where he grew up working in the kitchens of a Country House restaurant with rooms just outside Hull. From almost the moment he entered this first kitchen he set his sights on having his own business. He now runs two businesses Shoot the Bull which is a catering company that focuses on street food and The Old House a city centre restaurant in Hull. After 10 years as a chef, “slave to the stove” as he calls it, he decided it was time to take the leap into self-employment, starting Shoot The Bull in 2015.

His career has seen him working at restaurants including The Fat Duck, The Hand & Flowers and Gidleigh Park alongside exceptionally well-regarded chefs such as Heston Blumenthal, who taught him to push boundaries with food, but his main motivation comes from seeing his customers enjoying the food he puts so much care and attention into producing.

 

Old House_001 Old House_002 Old House_003 Old House_004

 

Q: Before you chose to be a chef did you have another career in mind?

A: As a child, I had a million and one ideas as to what I wanted to do. From a fireman to an architect, or Doctor to Designer. I was 15/16 when I fully decided that being a chef was the career for me. I worked part-time in the industry to start and fell in love with it. The creativity in food caught my imagination.

Q: Which restaurant would you like to go to? (that you haven’t had the opportunity to visit yet)

A: There is a restaurant called Skosh in York. I believe it’s about a year old but all I hear is great things. Many tipping it for a Michelin star. It would be great to go there soon. They focus on small plates which is a way of eating I really enjoy.

1464875518 1468526769 1468526690 1468526785 1464875666

 

Q: How important is a Michelin star? a chef in France, who has 3 Michelin stars, recently asked that they are removed because of the pressure – your thoughts

A: Michelin commands so much respect in the industry. I think it always will. I strive to achieve great things at our restaurant and if we reach the heights of a Michelin star I would be over the moon! I have worked in a few Michelin places and there is so much pressure. Every customer arriving with an expectancy of sheer brilliance. That’s the pressure, but if that can be coped with there are not many Michelin restaurants that struggle to fill their restaurant diary! I imagine the restaurant in question already has a great reputation and is full but to be given the highest recognition from probably the world’s most famous food guide is incredible, I wouldn’t be turning it down.

Q: What do you think about negative reviews?

A: I have mixed opinions on negative reviews. There’s a lot of chefs in the industry that don’t like things such as TripAdvisor. However, I think a negative review written in the right constructive manner can be useful for improving. Personally, I would much rather deal with a negative issue in person there and then. I think it’s the best way to resolve anything. No restaurant sets out to disappoint a customer and I believe dealing with it in the restaurant at the time is the most appropriate and fairest.

Q: What foods or styles of cooking do you enjoy cooking the most and which do you most like to eat?

A; I have had a lot of experience on pastry sections in kitchens so I really enjoy creating desserts, making bread products and pastries. These are also my favourite to eat! Whenever I eat out I have to squeeze a dessert in.

Q: What is your favourite dish on the current menu/s in which you use ingredients or produce from your most local supplier?

Our Brawn dish is a real favourite. Slow braised pig head, breadcrumbed and deep fried. Served with Yorkshire forced rhubarb and local cider reduction. The Pork coming from only 25 miles outside of the city centre.

BO2A2197 (2)

 

Q: If for one night you could be invited to cook alongside any Chef past or present who would that be and why?

A: I would love to cook with Massimo Bottura. I think he is so creative. From what I’ve seen of him I imagine he would be great fun to work alongside and a lot to learn from him.

Massimo_Battura_001

 


 

My Favourite Tables – Restaurants I have visited several times and why?

 

Restaurant (1): The Westwood Restaurant, Beverley. Never had a bad meal. Service is always on point and food great.

westwood3 westwood2 westwood1

 

https://www.thewestwood.co.uk https://twitter.com/The_Westwood

 

Restaurant (2): Tapasay, I am a massive fan of Indian food and it’s hard to get a good representation of it in our area. These guys smash it.

25438808_2000217176911430_5107794943639424898_o 27752595_2029360633997084_959953992754337214_n 28059155_2031827707083710_6857187908639711168_n Tapasya_01

 

http://www.tapasya.org.uk

 

Old_Downton_Lodge_featured

Head Chef Karl Martin of Old Downton Lodge speaks to Chef’s Table

Posted on

Screen Shot 2018-01-10 at 15.08.40

Karl has worked in the hospitality industry for 20 years. Starting his career at a small golf club in the heart of England, where at the age of 13 he became KP in the kitchen of the local golf club in Wolverhampton where his father ran the restaurant, followed by catering training at Henley College in Coventry. Since that time he has gained experience working in many different restaurants in the Midlandsworking with the likes of Peter Griffiths MBE, Simon Haigh F&B Director of the Eden Hotel Collection, Adam Bateman Group Executive of the Hotel Collection.

Peter Griffiths2 Simon Haigh Adam Bateman

Karl is now Chef Patron at Old Downton Lodge,  a restaurant with rooms on the Downton Estate near Ludlow.

19143142_1372411026175303_2616691512412269156_o

“Here at Downton Lodge we never force a dish, we class the food style as natural. Everything has a purpose. Its British country dining with a modem twist, with the emphasis on the ingredients and the marriage between them. We focus on the flavour and believe in treating the ingredients with respect.  Using nature and working with and preserving the seasons. We try to tell a story with our food. Where, nature to plate, is very important along with the traceability of the produce we use in the restaurant”.

 

ODL-Whitechocolate-Medsize-300dpi-0973 copy ODL-Pork-Medsize-0932 ODL-FishDish-Medsize-0870

 

ODL-Pine&Coconut-Medsize-0944 ODL-Fish-Medsize-1001

Being situated in the heart of a country estate, there is a wide range of produce that Karl has at his fingertips, from wild game to foraged fruits, nuts, herbs and mushrooms.  Giving the guests a unique dining experience where the quality of the ingredients and simplicity of the dish shine through.

The dining room is a small intimate 20 cover restauran, creating a 6 or 9-course seasonal tasting menu that changes every day, using the best of local produce in and around the estate and Herefordshire, Shropshire and the Borders of Wales.


 

FT: Who influenced you in the past? Who influences you now?

 

KM: There are a few, to be honest. My dad was a huge influence on me, I started where everyone should start, on the pots. Seeing the structure of a kitchen from the age of 13 has been a massive help and he was hard on me which has made me tougher as a person.

My two biggest cooking influences are Peter Griffiths and Simon Hauge. I learned so much from them. Focus, determination, drive, respecting people, ingredients and doing things the right way. Whether that be at work or in life. Both are huge inspirations.

Present day, it would have to be Claude Bosi and Gareth Ward.

Claude Bosi gareth-ward-770x770

 

Living in Ludlow I won’t go a day without hearing about Hibiscus or a story about Claude. A true legend of Shropshire cooking scene and his food is inspirational.

I ate at Ynyshir Hall 2 years ago and can’t stop talking about it to this day. As a chef, I try to get as much flavour as possible out of the ingredients, Gareth and his team just blow my mind with the amount of flavour in every course. I left speechless!! He has been great to speak to as well, always offering good advice. A true gent.

 

FT: Which restaurant would you like to go to? (that you haven’t had the opportunity to visit yet)

 

KM: Restaurant Frantzen in Stockholm Sweden. I follow them on every social media outlet I can. Their food blows me away! I remember seeing them for the first time on a video on Facebook, I just sat there with my gob open! It’s on my 2018 list. Can’t wait,

Frantzen B3-rbElu Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 13.27.28

 

FT: If you could change any misconceptions about restaurants/food, what would they be?

 

KM: Fine dining! What is it! Some people have this misconception that some restaurants are “too posh”. I agree to a certain point but at Old Downton Lodge I couldn’t give a shit if they want to wear shorts and flip-flops. FFS they are paying customers. I want people to come here feel relaxed and have great food, wine and an amazing experience.

 

FT: How important is a Michelin star? A chef in France, who has 3 Michelin stars, recently asked that they are removed because of the pressure – thoughts?

 

KM: For some people, it’s not important at all, for some it’s a must (die trying kind of thing).

I remember a tweet from Michelin that said “cook for your customers!” A lot of chefs forget that they’re the most important people. I’ve never had a star, so can’t comment on the pressure, but we just try and enjoy it. It’s food at the end of the day. I’m here to enjoy my cooking, not drive my team into the ground. If it happens for us it will be amazing but if not and the customers are happy we are doing our job right.

 

FT: What is your favourite dish on the current menu/s in which you use produce from your most local supplier?

 

KM: Has to be the 3 day cooked Wagyu Feather Blade from Montgomery (supplied By Alternative Meats) it never comes off the menu! Only the garnish changes. We are very lucky to be so close to such an amazing product/producer! Really is world class.

FT: If you could invite any Chef past or present to cook alongside you for one night who would that be and why?

 

KM: Claude Bosi – it would be great  to cook with him in Ludlow and just a very inspiring chef. Marco in his hey day just would be amazing. An absolute hero of mine.

Marco Unknown

 


My Favourite Tables – Two restaurants I have visited and why?

Restaurant (1): Ynyshir Hall- I’ve only been once but another trip is planned this year. Just one of the best in the UK and is for me soon to be world class.

 

Restaurant (2): Simpsons in Birmingham. I’ve been 3 times 1st was 18 years ago and twice last year. Just keeps going and evolving. It’s a great mix of classic and modern working well together.

llys-meddyg-exterior

Matt Waldron, Head Chef at Llys Meddyg Talks to Chef’s Table

Posted on

Matt_Waldron

Matt Waldron, Head Chef at Llys Meddyg

Matt started his career in a small country house hotel named The Glen yr Afon in Usk, completing his apprenticeship in cooking.  His interest in food science lead him to complete a degree in culinary arts and food science in The University of West London.  Staying in London Matt worked his way through some very established restaurants with Helene Darroze at The Connaught Hotel being his most influential.  After two and half years there it was time to come back to Wales.  Working as Sous chef at Restaurant James Sommerin in Penarth from the start taught him a lot about running a restaurant and all that comes with the territory.  After completing his time there he then moved on to work for Gareth Ward at Ynyshir, which holds a Michelin Star and 5 AA Rosettes.

Matt took over the kitchen at Llys Meddyg in the late summer of 2017 and has had a successful start to his time there.

Matt_Waldron_02 Matt_Waldron_01

IMG_4435 IMG_4608 IMG_4577 IMG_4288

 

 

The food at Llys Meddyg is simple, concentrating on flavour, based on local produce from the coast, off the mountains and all the forage that is available to him around Newport Pembrokeshire.  Where ever possible he works closely with small local suppliers which gives him the ability to handpick the produce to ensure it’s the best he can get his hands on.

 


 

CT: Which Chef/s influenced you in the past? Who continuous to influence you now?

MW: Working for Helene Darroze in The Connaught for 3 years influenced me massively.  Her philosophy of using the very best products and treating them with respect and care.  Seasonality was a massive part of her menu.

Helene-Darroze

Closer to home a big influence is Gareth Ward at Ynyshir.  The way he creates his dishes, works closely with nature, the acidity of dishes, and just the simplicity of his dishes to the eye makes one of the most amazing restaurants in the UK.

gareth-ward-770x770

 

CT: What would be your last dish (to eat) “the death row question”

 

MW: My mums Sunday dinner.  Roast beef, roasties, and all the vegetables from dads garden.  Cant beat it.

 

CT: Which restaurant would you like to go to? (that you haven’t had the opportunity to visit yet)

 

MW: Piazza Duomo in Northen Italy.  The food at Piazza Duomo is inspirational due to the use of local food products from his kitchen garden and around Alba.  They have such amazing produce in that region and Enrico Crippa just showcases it at its best.  It is his take on Italian food with influences of Japan visible in his dishes.

Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 13.07.51 Piazza_Duomo_02 Piazza_Duomo_01 pzd-ristorante-perfezione

 

CT: What do you think about negative reviews?

MW: I think negative reviews can be a good thing.  No one is perfect and sometimes things don’t go to plan, but that’s life.  You have to see in what context the review was written in.  If used properly negativity can be flipped into positivity, ideas to improve something, maybe something that hadn’t been spotted before.  All reviews whether positive or negative are a good thing, but the people that write reviews just to get something for nothing should stop, it can be quite damaging to a business.

 

CT: If you received a call from Buckingham Palace asking you to create a Dinner Menu using the best of Pembrokeshire what would you feature?

MW: The main event would definitely have to be Preseli lamb, for me, it’s the best lamb around.  The abundance of seafood we have around us I would definitely have to use the crab from Solva and our vegetable guy Nathan who has an organic veg farm just down the road from us.  His vegetables are incredible.

browncrab 16664884_10154196481880841_1297570762556213934_o 8114131625_62d5706ccb_k

CT: What is your favourite dish on the current menu/s in which you use foraged ingredients or produce from your most local supplier?

MW: Preseli lamb, loin, rib and shoulder, Aubergine salad, yoghurt, charred onion, lamb soy

The lamb comes from the mountain opposite us.  The vegetables come from Nathan our organic veg supplier, and the yoghurt we make ourselves from milk from jersey cows about 10 miles away.

Llys_Meddyg_Lamb

 

CT: If for one night you could be invited to cook alongside any Chef past or present who would that be and why?

MW: Charlie Trotter.  His food is very classic, looks immaculate and focuses on seasons.  He introduced America to food styles not seen before, very bold for the time.  He was ambitious and wanted everything perfect, from the minute you walked in the door.

7609088

 

 

My Favourite Tables – Two restaurants I have visited and why?

Restaurant (1):  Gareth Ward at Ynyshir.  The food is exceptional.  There is a continuous development there and the place keeps getting better and better.

Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 13.24.30

 

Restaurant (2): Restaurant Frantzen, Sweden.  It’s a combination of relaxed atmosphere and incredible food.  There is no stone unturned there, the attention to detail is out of this world.  If I could afford it I would eat there once a month.

B3-rbElu Frantzen Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 13.27.28

Grant_M_main

Chef’s Tables meet Grant Mulholland Head Chef at The Hand

Posted on

 Chef_Grant_Mulholland

Head Chef Grant Mulholland started his culinary career journey at the age of 15 in a small country house hotel in South West Scotland in a small town called Castle Douglas. He originally went for a waiters job but come out with a chef’s assistant position and has never looked back.

castle-douglas-threave-castle-47744749

 

It was after three years at Catering College he moved into a commis chef position in North Wales then onto a position within Thistle Hotels moving up to head chef at a fast pace, finally he moved back to North Wales and was appointed head chef at The Hand at Llanarmon and he has never looked back and has gone from strength to strength achieving 2AA rosette and entry into the Michelin guide.

The_Hand

IMG_4712 IMG_4720 IMG_5644 IMG_5671 The_Hand_009

Question: What would be your last dish (to eat) “the death row question” 

A: Last dish to eat is my mum’s haggis, tatties(potatoes)and neeps(turnips) washed down with a can of Tennents Lager.

Haggis

 

Question: Before you chose to be a chef did you have another career in mind?

A: School wasn’t a particularly good time in my younger life. As soon as I started to work in a small country house hotel I have never dreamt of looking into anything else, this is my dream job and always will be.

Question:  What do you think about negative reviews? 

A: Negative reviews can be good, constructive or they can be a bad thing. I work on the ethic that I put 100% passion into my work and so far has given me some very inspiring reviews of my food, any negativity I look at in a positive way and deem it constructive criticism.

Question: If there were a “Fantasy League” of Chefs who would make up your perfect brigade?  

A: My fantasy brigade I would head up is with all of my old head chefs, showing them what I have achieved in all my years in cooking. With my dad looking on at the hotplate giving me the encouragement he does every day.

Question: What foods or styles of cooking do you enjoy cooking the most and which do you most like to eat?

A: Fish cookery is a real passion as I have a great respect for Rick Stein and his ideas, it’s a precise form of cooking which in my mind takes a lot of skill to get correct.

Grant_M_001 Grant_M_004 Grant_M_002 Grant_M_003

 

Question: What is your favourite dish on the current menu/s in which you use ingredients or produce from your most local supplier? 

A: Simply Beef, our locally farmed welsh black is only 1 mile from the hotel, it is the best beef I have ever cooked in all my years of cooking

800px-Welsh_Black_Cattle_Aberdare_Blog Grant_M_009 Grant_M_008

 

Question: If for one night you could be invited to cook alongside any Chef past or present who would that be and why?

Rick_Stein

 

A: Rick Stein, for many years his passion and excitement for cooking have inspired me in my cooking and he adds a less serious element to the profession which is a great thing.

My favourite tables

My only Michelin star visit ever was The Waterside Inn in Bray and the taste of the lobster and white port sauce will never leave my lips.

Waterside_Inn_lobster

 

I would also eat in my own restaurant (Hand at Llanarmon) as the other 2 chefs I work with and have taught for many years and have them serve me the best food around.

 

restaurant-james-sommerin-0019

Chef’s Table talk with Chef James Sommerin

Posted on

James_Sommerin

 

James started his culinary career at the age of 12 working on a Saturday morning in an Italian restaurant in Newport, Chez Chiovanni, after leaving school he started his first full time cooking position at the Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel near Usk.

 

48871_exterior_view_1

 

It was from there, at the age of 16, that he decided to move to Scotland and worked at Farleyer House Hotel under the guidance of Head Chef Richard Lyth, it was whilst being taught by Richard that he gained the understanding of seasonality, quality and the essence of flavour. Whilst in Scotland he cooked at the dinner to celebrate the opening of the Scottish Parliament and was also shortlisted as Young Scottish Chef of the Year. after a few years working in Scotland, he met future wife Louise and after marrying and having their first daughter James decided to move his family returning to his home country- Wales.

Back in Wales in August 2000 he started at the Crown at Whitebrook as Sous Chef and became Head Chef in late 2003, four years later obtained his first Michelin Star, an achievement he is rightly hugely proud of. He retained the coveted Michelin star until 2013 when the “Crown” closed its doors. Recently reopened under new ownership as The Whitebrook

 

Screen Shot 2017-12-18 at 13.00.12

 

2014 saw James and Louise open Restaurant James Sommerin in Penarth. James and wife Louise were determined to make the restaurant with rooms a success and are rightfully very proud of what they and their team have achieved. A Michelin star in 2016, AA Restaurant of the Year – Wales 2016-2017, 4 AA rosettes, Restaurant of the year 2016 for Wales at the Food Awards Wales and Number 34 in the Good Food Guide for 2017, also achieving 5 stars for rooms with the AA and Visit Wales.

 

JS_001 JS_003 JS_004 JS_002

 

” We pride ourselves on being a family run business, with myself heading up the kitchen, Louise front of house and our 3 girls never far away “

 

Chef’s Table Asked:

 

Q: What would be your last dish (to eat) “the death row question”

A:  My late grandmother has always been my inspiration, cooking with her on the weekend gave me my love and passion for cooking and I will always be eternally grateful.  So I would have to say my late grans beef brisket, gravy & veg

 

Q: Have you ever been presented with a dish/ingredient that you just could not eat and where was that?

 

A: Durian Fruit – tried it in Singapore in 2012. It tasted horrendous, I can’t even put it into words.

 

durian-fruit

 

Q: If there were a “Fantasy League” of Chefs, who would make up your perfect brigade?

 

A: Richard Lyth, Michele Roux Snr, Grant Achatz, Alex Stupak, Brett Graham & Eric Frechon

 

richard_lyth_photo_080411_126 Michel_Roux_01  Alex-Stupack chef-brett-graham chef-eric-frechon

 

Q: What’re the most overused words on restaurant menus’ today

 

A: where can I start – Textures of, deconstructed & foraged!

 

Q: Having worked and trained in Scotland what food preparation or styles of cooking did you learn then that you still utilise today. What was on the menu for the opening of Parliament dinner?

 

A – oh gosh, butchery.

The menu hmmm, I’m sorry I can’t remember back that far it must be a sign of my age now.

 

JS_Butchery

 

Q: What is your favourite dish on the current menu/s in which you use ingredients or produce from your most local supplier? 

A:  Old Cogan Farm Penarth where we get our Welsh Lamb which we serve with Broad Beans and Turnip.

JS_Chefs_table

 

Q: If for one night you could be invited to cook alongside any Chef past or present who would that be and why?

C – That’s a tough one, I couldn’t narrow it down to 1 person.


My Favourite Tables – Two restaurants I have visited and why?

 

Restaurant 1 – The Greenhouse in Mayfair – fantastic cooking, every time we go (and we’ve been a few) staff are all very friendly.

 

24774951_1213504608750300_1625959483661053303_n 24294295_1206616556105772_3915394893228645106_n 23032394_1182818215152273_1455830460385069639_n

 

Restaurant 2 – Geranium in Copenhagen, cooking on another level

 

geranium-wood-sorrel geranium-yellow-beets-aromatic-seeds-yoghurt-juice-beach-plant-oil-17062016-12 geraniummad-13 geranium-76

Alchemilla_CT1

Chef Alex Bond of Alchemilla Nottingham talks to Chef’s table

Posted on

Alex Bond

 

Chef Alex Bond has been cooking since he was 19 years old and most of his working life has mainly been in Michelin-starred kitchens including 42 The Calls in Leeds, Restaurant Sat Bains in Nottingham, Auberge du Lac in Hertfordshire and Turners in Birmingham.

It has been for some time his ambition to open his own restaurant. Alchemilla recently opened in Nottingham is the realisation of that. Alchemilla has been two years in the making with the project to turn an old 19th-century coaching house, which had remained empty for over 150 years, into a modern light space for a restaurant, whilst retaining the character of the building.

Alchemilla_CT1

 

The food is clean, fresh and a talking point with diners as the menus have elements that they won’t  necessarily have tried before. Alex is a keen gardener and is also married to a gardener so he uses vegetables and plants as centre stage in the cooking. With the resulting dishes delighting and surprising people with the flavours that can be achieved by letting vegetables feature prominently in the menu.

We wanted to know a little more about Chef and his plans:

Q: Which Chef/s influenced you in the past? Who continuous to influence you now?

A: Every chef I have worked for has influenced me whether it’s for good or bad reasons, we can learn from all of these experiences whether its cooking techniques and philosophies, how I wanted to treat my staff or run my business

Q: Which restaurant would you like to go to? (that you haven’t had the opportunity to visit yet)

A: Top of my list at the moment are Hedone, Saison, L’astrance and Attica

Q: What is set to be the next ‘new’ ingredient? And which in particular interests you.

A: There’s been a real shift towards less protein in my cooking over the last 4 years and that seems to be a big thing in this country. I know it’s very Nordic but my plant-based cooking feels very British which I love.

 

IMG_9471Alchemilla_006Screen Shot 2017-12-05 at 12.58.23Alchemilla_009

Q: If there were a “Fantasy League” of Chefs who would make up your perfect brigade?

A: I would have to go with Nathan Outlaw on the fish, Gareth Ward on the sauce, James Petrie on the pastry, myself on the vegetables, Tom Spencley and Tony Parkin on the larder

Credit: Gareth-Ward-FJONA-BLACKScreen Shot 2018-05-03 at 13.15.52Screen Shot 2018-05-03 at 13.19.35Screen Shot 2018-05-03 at 13.21.08

 

Q: What foods or styles of cooking do you enjoy cooking the most and which do you most like to eat?

A: I love cooking with vegetables, a large hand dived scallop almost does the work for you whereas a cabbage or cauliflower needs thought, effort and skill

 

Q: What is your favourite dish on the current menu/s in which you use ingredients or produce from your most local supplier?

A: Cauliflower, roasted yeast, almond

 

Q: If for one night you could be invited to cook alongside any Chef past or present who would that be and why?

A: I would love to smash out a service with Pascal Barbot of L’astrance in Paris

pascal-barbot

astrance-1-11-626-605 astrance-g-10-09-152-605 astrance-450-605 astrance-6-09-649-605 astrance-3-09-271-605

 

My Favourite Tables – a restaurant I have visited several times and why?

 

Restaurant (1): Ynyshir. Gareth Ward is doing some of the most innovative food in the country and I have had 4 meals there and it just goes from strength to strength

23509204_854648028032553_7316224589457046858_o 24174233_865529690277720_8300676746704965687_n 24273533_865530693610953_6641947187055936736_o 24291830_865531296944226_7558228975123742109_o